Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Marching Band Contest

Media Contact: Kate Hector
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Nov 01, 2012
Category: Music


AUSTIN, TX— Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2012 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 5-6 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 3A bands will compete on Monday, with the preliminaries beginning at 9:00 a.m., and the finals beginning at 6:15 p.m.  The Conference 5A competitions will be held on Tuesday, starting at 7:30 a.m. for the preliminaries, and 8:15 p.m. for the finals.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $17 for adults and $12 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $30. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster or at the gate. The box office will open 1 hour, 15 minutes before the first performance. Access to a live video feed will be provided through the UIL website for $4.99 for a one day pass.

Nationally recognized judges who have distinguished themselves as band directors and music educators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 3A participants include: Hidalgo HS, Henderson HS, Kennedale HS, Lubbock Cooper HS, Canton HS, China Spring HS, Fredericksburg HS, Spring Hill HS, Wills Point HS, Burnet HS, Port Isabel HS, Argyle HS, Abilene Wylie HS, North Lamar HS, Princeton HS, Rio Grande City Grulla HS, Monahans HS, Springtown HS, Rio Hondo HS, Atlanta HS, and Castleberry HS

Conference 5A participants include: Harlingen South HS, Spring HS, Langham Creek HS, Plano East HS, Keller HS, Brownsville Hanna HS, Pflugerville Hendrickson HS, Pearland HS, Marcus HS, Fossil Ridge HS, Laredo United HS, The Woodlands HS, Duncanville HS, Austin Bowie HS, Harlingen HS, Sugar Land Clements HS, Keller Central HS, Berkner HS, Brazoswood HS, Richland HS, San Antonio Johnson HS, O’Connor HS, Coppell HS, Westlake HS, El Paso Coronado HS, Cypress Fairbanks HS, Donna HS, Clear Brook HS, Hebron HS, San Antonio Reagan HS, Dickinson HS, Brownsville Lopez HS, L.D. Bell HS, Lake Travis HS, Clear Lake HS, San Benito HS, and Rowlett HS.

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music website:

-- END --