Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Marching Band Contest

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Nov 04, 2011
Category: Music


AUSTIN, TX— Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2011 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 7-8 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 1A and 2A bands will compete on Monday, with the preliminaries beginning at 7:30 a.m., and the finals beginning at 7:15 p.m.  The Conference 4A competitions will be held on Tuesday, starting at 9:00 a.m. for the preliminaries, and 7 p.m. for the finals.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $17 for adults and $12 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $30. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster or at the gate. The box office will open 1 hour, 15 minutes before the first performance.

Nationally recognized judges who have distinguished themselves as band directors and music educators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 1A participants include: Throckmorton HS, Shelbyville HS, Sudan HS, Somerville HS, Falls City HS, Tenaha HS, Seymour HS, Itasca HS, Sundown HS, Barksdale Nueces Canyon HS, Honey Grove HS, Clarksville HS, Tahoka HS, Shiner HS, Electra HS, Ganado HS and Canadian HS.

Conference 2A participants include: Cotulla HS, Littlefield HS, Melissa HS, White Oak HS, Thorndale HS, Harper HS, Howe HS, Crane HS, Queen City HS, Edna HS, Clifton HS, New Boston HS, Falfurrias HS, Forsan HS, Luling HS, Cameron Yoe HS, Redwater HS, Holliday HS and Eastland HS.

Conference 4A participants include: Frisco Wakeland HS, Fort Worth Boswell HS, Cedar Park HS, Richardson Pearce HS, Brenham HS, Frisco Centennial HS, El Paso Del Valle HS, Dripping Springs HS, Pearland Dawson HS, Roma HS, Wolfforth Frenship HS, Forney HS, Sherman HS, Austin Vandegrift HS, Friendswood HS, Corpus Christi Calallen HS, Azle HS, Alice HS, North Richland Hills Birdville HS, Waxahachie HS, Carrollton Smith HS, Austin Lake Travis HS, Waller HS and Aledo HS.

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music website:

-- END --