Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Marching Band Contest

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Oct 29, 2010
Category: Music


AUSTIN, TX— Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2010 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 1-2 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 3A bands will compete on Monday, with the preliminaries beginning at 9 a.m., and the finals beginning at 7 p.m.  The Conference 5A competitions will be held on Tuesday, starting at 7:30 a.m. for the preliminaries, and 8:15 p.m. for the finals.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $17 for adults and $12 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $28. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster or at the gate.

Judges from all over the country that have distinguished themselves as successful marching band directors and administrators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 3A participants include: Brownsboro HS, Rio Hondo HS, Burnet HS, Canton HS, Lubbock Cooper HS, Texarkana Pleasant Grove HS, Crystal City HS, Kennedale HS, Wills Point HS, La Vernia HS, Paris North Lamar HS, Argyle HS, Taylor HS, Monahans HS, Kaufman HS, Abilene Wylie HS, Robinson HS, Fredericksburg HS, Atlanta HS, Princeton HS, Clint Mountain View HS, Port Isabel HS and China Spring HS.

Participants in Conference 5A include: Northside O’Connor HS, El Paso Americas HS, Spring HS, Laredo Alexander HS, Hurst Bell HS, Richardson Berkner HS, Round Rock HS, Keller HS, Brownsville Lopez HS, Haltom City Haltom HS, Duncanville HS, Austin Anderson HS, Galena Park North Shore HS, Houston Langham Creek HS, El Paso Hanks HS, Northside Taft HS, Clute Brazoswood HS, Lewisville Marcus HS, Coppell HS, Spring Westfield HS, Saginaw HS, Austin Bowie HS, Garland Rowlett HS, Houston Cypress Woods HS, San Antonio Johnson HS, Conroe The Woodlands HS, Donna HS, El Paso Coronado HS, San Antonio Reagan HS, Houston Cypress Falls HS, Pearland HS, Brownsville Hanna HS, Lewisville Hebron HS, Austin Westlake HS, Fort Bend Clements HS and Harlingen HS.

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music website:

-- END --