Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Marching Band Contest

Media Contact: Kim Rogers
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Nov 04, 2005
Category: General Information


AUSTIN, TX- Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2005 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 7-8 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 1A and 2A bands will compete on Monday, with the preliminaries beginning at 8 a.m., and the finals beginning at 6:45 p.m. The Conference 4A competitions will be held on Tuesday, starting at 9 a.m. for the preliminaries, and 6:45 p.m. for the finals.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $12 for adults and $6 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $18. Tickets are on sale the day of the contest. Spectator parking will be available at the cost of $10 per vehicle.

Judges from all over the country that have distinguished themselves as successful marching band directors and administrators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 1A participants include: Flatonia HS, Nueces Canyon HS, Forsan HS, Hamlin HS, Harper HS, Munday HS, Santo HS, Harleton HS, Shiner HS, Windthorst HS, Sundown HS, Overton HS, Charlotte HS, Rivercrest HS, Sudan HS, and Iola HS.

Participants in Conference 2A are: Holliday HS, Queen City HS, Cooper HS, Troy HS, Randolph HS, Abernathy HS, Dublin HS, Argyle HS, Somerville HS, Crane HS, Van Vleck HS, DeKalb HS, Celina HS, Reagan County HS, Canadian HS, Union Grove HS, Clifton HS, and Blanco HS. Participants in Conference 4A include: Friendswood HS, Poteet HS, Aledo HS, Del Valle HS, Wylie HS, Plainview HS, Seguin HS, Foster HS, Lopez HS, McCallum HS, Springtown HS, Roma HS, Dickinson HS, Waxahachie HS, Andress HS, New Braunfels HS, Birdville HS, Hendrickson HS, Frenship HS, Sherman HS, and Connally HS.

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music web site: .

-- END --