Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Kim Rogers
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Aug 03, 2005
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— Several high schools and school personnel were issued penalties, while one student-athlete was granted eligibility due to the decisions handed down by the State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League on Wednesday.

The boys athletic program at Pilot Point High School was issued a public reprimand and one-year probation for violation of UIL rules.  Based on a preponderance of evidence of UIL rule violations found during the investigation of the Pilot Point High School athletic program, the State Executive Committee issued the penalties, and asked that the District 6-3A Executive Committee report back on Pilot Point’s progress in the spring. Additionally, the State Executive Committee requested that retired Pilot Point head football coach G.A. Moore appear before the State Executive Committee if he should ever decide to coach at a UIL member school again.

Furthermore, Evadale High School was issued a public reprimand and one-year probation by the State Executive Committee for exceeding the number of softball games allowed during the school week.

The State Executive Committee also issued a public reprimand and one-year probation to Ben Bolt High School coaches Jeffery LaFevre and Joe Vela for violating UIL rules regarding meals for athletes and not reporting violations in a timely manner.

A Fort Worth Arlington Heights High School student-athlete was granted eligibility for varsity athletics by the State Executive Committee, thereby overturning a previous District 8-4A Executive Committee decision that would have made the student ineligible until the end of the 2005-06 school year.

Conversely, the appeals by a Conroe The Woodlands High School student-athlete and a Temple High School student-athlete were denied by the State Executive Committee, leaving them ineligible for varsity athletics.

The State Executive Committee denied the following appeals:
* San Antonio Hawkins High School: Appeal of Public Reprimand Issued by District 30-1A Executive Committee;
·     Appeal of Automatic Penalty for Ejection from Contest
        1.Rob Buffa, Follett High School
        2.Wayne McKeller, Kirbyville High School

The following schools were issued a public reprimand and one-year suspension for failure to participate in One-Act Play:
·     Austin Johnston High School
·     Dallas Spruce High School
·     Fort Worth Polytechnic High School
·     North Houston High School for Business
·     Houston Jordan High School
·     San Isidro High School

In other action, the State Executive Committee ruled that the UIL rule regarding live television broadcasts of regular season football games on Friday night is clear, and no other interpretation of the rule could be issued.  Therefore, there was no change in the rule’s original interpretation that there is no exception to allow a live television broadcast of regular season football games on Friday night.

-- END --