Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Feb 16, 2011
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX — The State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League handed down decisions on the eligibility of student-athletes and issued penalties to coaches and schools for violations of UIL rules on Wednesday.

The State Executive Committee denied the appeal for the exception to forfeiture of contest by Northside Stevens High School. The Stevens boys basketball team must forfeit all 18 games in which an ineligible player participated.

El Paso Bel Air High School coach Sergio Delgado was issued a public reprimand and place on probation for one year for violation of Section 51 (a) (8) and 1201 (a) (7) of the UIL Constitution and Contest Rules.

A student-athlete from Fort Bend Bush High School was denied their appeal for varsity eligibility upholding the previous ruling of the District 23-5A Executive Committee. After hearing testimony from all interested parties, it was ruled that the student-athlete changed schools for athletic reasons.

In other action, a student-athlete from Rosenberg Terry High School had their appeal to regain varsity eligibility granted after the committee ruled that the student-athlete did not change schools for athletic reasons.

Briscoe Fort Elliott High School coach Brad Slatton was issued a public reprimand, two years probation and a one-game suspension for being ejected from a contest while on probation.

Diboll High School coach Laura Knight, Houston Clear Lake coach Brian Palazzi and Frost High School coach Paul Hargadine were issued public reprimands and placed on probation for one year after the committee denied their appeals for violation of Section 1208 (j), ejection from a contest.

In other action, the following coaches were issued a public reprimand and placed on probation for one year for violation of Section 1208 (j), ejection from a contest:

  • Vidor High School: Coach Rickey Jacks
  • Killeen Ellison High School: Coach Christopher Ryan Anderson
  • Beaumont Austin Middle School: Coach Corion Thomas
  • Lipan High School: Coach Drew Howard
  • Garland Naaman Forest High School: Coach Derik Short
  • Hico High School: Coach Drew Coffman
  • Frisco High School: Coach David Williams
  • Nocona Middle School: Coach David Nix
  • Lorenzo High School: Coach Lin Fink
  • Baytown Lee High School: Coach Terry Gray
  • McAllen High School: Coach Ricardo Trevino
  • Denton Calhoun Middle School: Coach Stacy Romano
  • Midland Lee High School: Coach James Patton
  • Northside Stevens High School: Coach Marc Helkey
  • Vidor High School: Coach Matt Wedel

-- END --