Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Jan 19, 2011
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— The State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League handed down decisions on the eligibility of student-athletes and issued penalties to coaches for violations of UIL rules on Wednesday.

Student-athletes from San Antonio Hawkins High School, San Antonio Roosevelt High School and Houston Jones High School were denied their appeals for varsity eligibility upholding the previous rulings of the district executive committees. After hearing testimony from all interested parties, it was ruled that the student-athletes changed schools for athletic purposes.

A student-athlete from Klein Oak High School had their appeal to regain varsity eligibility granted after the committee ruled that the student-athlete did not change schools for athletic purposes.

Robstown High School coaches Michael Trigg and Lolly Arevalo were issued public reprimands and placed on probation for one year after the committee denied their appeals for violation of Section 1208(j), ejection from a contest.

In other action, the following coaches were issued a public reprimand and placed on probation for one year for violation of Section 1208(j), ejection from a contest:

  • Little Elm High School: Coach Derrick Osborne.
  • Merit Bland High School: Coach Glenn Borger.
  • South Garland High School: Coach Terrance Williams.
  • San Antonio Madison High School: Coach Juan Valenzuela.
  • Waxahachie Advantage Academy: Coach Randy Johnson.
  • Pittsburg High School: Coach Jarrick Farmer.
  • Briscoe Fort Elliott High School: Coach Brad Slatton.
  • Winona High School: Coach Shely Kay.
  • Coleman High School: Coach Charles Villegas.
  • Crosby High School: Coach David Vespignani.
  • Rosebud-Lott High School: Coach Matthew Sebek.
  • La Feria High School: Coach Juan Martinez.
  • Copperas Cove High School: Coach Matthew Doyle.
  • Lubbock Estacado High School: Coach Anthony Wagner.
  • Corsicana Mildred High School: Coach Walter Nichols.
  • Bowie Gold-Burg High School: Colby Broussard.
  • Hitchcock High School: Coach Steve Adamson.
  • D’Hanis High School: Coach Todd Craft.
  • Leonard High School: Coach James Garner.
  • New Caney Porter High School: Coach Barry Gibson.

-- END --