Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Feb 24, 2010
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— The State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League issued penalties for violations of UIL rules and decided the eligibility of student athletes on Wednesday.

Dallas Gateway Charter High School was issued a public reprimand and placed on probation for three years for student eligibility violations. In addition, athletic director James Bevil and coach Ernesto Garcia were placed on one-year probation.

The State Executive Committee denied the appeal of Brooks Academy High School, and upheld the right for District Executive Committees to make decisions regarding safety in their districts.

Lubbock Monterey High School coach Donny Matticks was issued a public reprimand and placed on one-year probation for violating dates for practice.

Student-athletes from East Bernard High School, Waxahachie High School and Corpus Christi Moody High School will remain ineligible for varsity athletics after the previous rulings from District Executive Committees were upheld. After hearing testimony from all interested parties, it was ruled that the student-athletes changed schools for athletic purposes.

In other action, the following coaches were issued a public reprimand and placed on one-year probation for violation of section 1208(j), ejection from a contest:

  • New Boston High School coach Michael Hill
  • Grand Prairie High School coach Domingo Ponce
  • Canadian High School coach Douglas Boyd
  • Pflugerville Connally High School coach Eddie Lolis
  • Wichita Falls High School coach Larry Ludtke
  • Vidor Middle School coach Ashley Frank
  • Robinson High School coach Brent Beeson
  • Eastland High School coach Rodney Gee
  • Judson Wagner High School coach Sammy Young
  • Pasadena Memorial High School coach David Bosley
  • Prosper High School coach Zac Harrell
  • Coolidge High School coach Christopher Bennett
  • Dodd City High School coach Lance Shelton
  • Tenaha High School coach Chris Green
  • Brownsville Hanna High School coach Willie Brown
  • Mason High School coach John Keller
  • Lufkin Hudson High School coach Deanna Nigel Boyles
  • Panhandle High School coach Jacob Thompson
  • Dayton High School coach Brad Hadnot
  • Cedar Park Vista Ridge High School coach Stormy Cook
  • Crockett Middle School coach LaRhonda Hunter

-- END --