Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Kim Rogers
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Aug 06, 2008
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— A student-athlete was granted eligibility for varsity athletics and penalties were issued to schools and coaches for violations of UIL rules after decisions were handed down by the UIL State Executive Committee on Wednesday.

A Houston Madison High School student-athlete was granted eligibility for varsity athletics after the State Executive Committee overturned a previous decision of the District 20-5A Executive Committee ruling the student ineligible for changing schools for athletic purposes.  The student will be eligible for varsity athletics for the 2008-09 school year.

The State Executive Committee also issued penalties to three coaches.  San Antonio Clark High School coach John Paul was granted his appeal to reduce his previous penalty of a three-year suspension from coaching.  His penalty was amended to a one-year suspension and two-years probation.  Corpus Christi Calallen High School coach Steve Chapman was issued a suspension for the first 3 district games of the

2009 season as well as a public reprimand and probation extension until March 3, 2010 for failure to submit accurate eligibility forms while on probation.  Additionally, former Slaton High School coach Eddie Kilmer was denied an appeal to reduce his previous penalty of a three-year suspension.  He will be suspended from coaching until August 14, 2010.


In other action, the following schools were issued a public reprimand and one-year probation for violation of One Act Play rules.

•            Bryson HS

•            Cushing HS

•            Dell City HS

•            Fannindel HS

•            Loraine HS

•            Lueders-Avoca HS

•            Mathis HS

•            Mountain View HS

•            Presidio HS

•            San Antonio Hawkins HS

•            Walnut Springs HS

•            Wimberley Porter HS

•            Zavalla HS

•            Avalon HS

•            Houston Eisenhower HS

•            Paradise HS

•            Rockwall HS

•            Tyler Lee HS

•            Carthage HS

•            Jasper HS

•            Tornillo HS

-- END --