Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL Lone Star Cup Presentation Scheduled for Argyle High School

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Sep 05, 2018
Category: General Information


AUSTIN, TX — The University Interscholastic League will honor Argyle High School on Friday, September 7 for its 2018 Conference 4A UIL Lone Star Cup victory. The UIL Lone Star Cup trophy presentation will take place during halftime of Argyle’s varsity football game against La Vega at Argyle Eagle Stadium, which begins at 7:00 p.m.

“The UIL Lone Star Cup rewards the best overall academic, athletic and music programs in the state of Texas,” said UIL Executive Director Dr. Charles Breithaupt. “To win, every student, teacher and coach across all areas of UIL competition must contribute. The winning schools and communities should be proud of this outstanding achievement.”

With state championships in academics, girls basketball and baseball, and state runners-up in marching band, volleyball and boys golf, Argyle earned 119 total Lone Star Cup points for the 2017-18 school year. The Eagles also earned points in UIL team tennis, football, boys basketball, girls and boys soccer, and softball. This is a state record seventh-consecutive UIL Lone Star Cup victory for Argyle High School, and the school’s ninth overall award.

The UIL Lone Star Cup is awarded annually to six high schools, one in each of the six UIL classifications (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A and 6A), based on their team performance in district and state championships. The winning schools in each classification receive the UIL Lone Star Cup trophy and a $1,000 scholarship, also presented by the UIL. The UIL Lone Star Cup program began during the 1997-98 school year.

The presentations for 2018 UIL Lone Star Cup winners Prosper and Conroe The Woodlands will occur later this fall. Mason and Brock will also be presented with their trophies on Friday, September 7. Nazareth was presented with its award earlier this fall.

-- END --