Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

UIL Executive Director inducted into Texas High School Football Hall of Fame

Media Contact: Kate Hector
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Apr 04, 2014
Category: General Information


AUSTIN— University Interscholastic League Executive Director Dr. Charles Breithaupt has been selected for the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014, announced the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. The hall of fame list includes coaches and administrators who have positively impacted high school football in Texas.

Dr. Breithaupt will be inducted in a class of eight individuals, one coach and one inductee from each decade from 1950-2000. Dr. Breithaupt is being inducted in the category of Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game. The Dave Campbell contributor to the Game is a special category of inductees that has included team doctors, school administrators, media members, among others.

Members are selected by a statewide committee made up of sportswriters, high school football coaches and members of the Texas high School Football Hall of Fame Board of Trustees.

A news conference will be held on Saturday, May 3rd at 3:00 p.m. in the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s Southwest Conference exhibit gallery. This event is open to all media with no credentials required. A dinner will follow at 6 p.m. at the Baylor University Ferrell Center. Tickets are $45 for adults and $15 for students. The banquet will include Hall of Fame inductions and special presentations.

Dr. Breithaupt has served the UIL since 1992 and has been the executive director since 2009. Prior to joining the league, he coached football, basketball, baseball, track and field, and cross- country, and taught English and History. Dr. Breithaupt was inducted into the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame in 2003 and the Southeast Texas Coaches Hall of Honor in 2001. He was inducted into the Texas High School Coaches Hall of Honor in 2005.

The Texas Sports Hall of Fame is home to more than 300 Texas legends, and was established in 1951. A museum was opened in Waco to house the hall of fame in 1993. The Texas Sports Hall of Fame contains the Texas Tennis Museum and Hall of Fame, and the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame.

This year's inductees are:

1950's and before: Joe Tusa, Houston Reagan

1960's: Jerry LeVias, Beaumont Hebert

1970's: Donald Moore, Splendora High School 

1980's: Jay Hess, Eastland High School

1990's: Shane Lechler, East Bernard High School

2000's: Kendal Briles, Stephenville & Wolfforth Frenship High Schools 

Coach: W.T. Stapler, Winters/ Conroe/ Sweetwater/ FW Boswell/ Andrews & Brownwood High Schools 

Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game- Dr. Charles Breithaupt- UIL

-- END --