Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

Interscholastic League Advisory Council to Meet

Media Contact: Kim Rogers
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Apr 13, 2005
Category: Advisory Council or Committee


AUSTIN—The Interscholastic League Advisory Council, enacted by the 71st Legislature, will meet at 9 a.m. Thursday, April 14 at the UIL Building in Austin.

The Council, created in 1990, serves as a forum for citizens, schools, and interested parties to voice ideas and concerns regarding UIL rules, activities and structure. Any recommendations from the Advisory Council must be approved by the UIL Legislative Council and the Commissioner of Education before becoming policy.

The 10-member Council appointed by the Speaker of the House, State Board of Education Chair, UIL Legislative Council Chair, and the Commissioner of Education includes the following:

The Honorable Bob Griggs, Texas House of Representatives
Vernon Newsom, Mansfield ISD Supt.
Elizabeth Treadway, Hardin-Jefferson ISD Supt.
Dan Montgomery, Fredericksburg
Rene Nuñez, El Paso
Michael Evans, Lufkin
Donald Frank, Port Arthur
Robert Thomas, Duncanville
Manny Pacillas, El Paso
Rolando J. Guerra, Edinburg

An agenda for tomorrow’s meeting follows.

Interscholastic League Advisory Council
April 14, 2005
University Interscholastic League Building
1701 Manor Rd., Austin, TX
9:00 a.m.

A. Introduction and Opening Remarks
B. Public Hearing
AA. Scheduled Speakers
9:10 a.m. Cliff Odenwald, Texas High School Athletic Directors Association
BB. Unscheduled Speakers
C. Advisory Council Deliberations
AA. Steroid Issues
D. Announcements
E. Adjournment

This is a public hearing. Individuals and/or association representatives are invited to speak.

-- END --