Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

District Assignment Appeals Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Kate Hector
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Feb 18, 2016
Category: Advisory Council or Committee


AUSTIN— The District Assignment Appeals Committee of the University Interscholastic League heard 19 appeals regarding reclassification and realignment Thursday. The committee, composed of UIL Legislative Council members, heard testimony from all interested parties in regards to each appeal.

The committee granted appeals from Corpus Christi Calallen High School and Alice High School, both schools move from conference 5A district 29 to conference 5A district 30. The committee denied Beaumont West Brook High School’s appeal to change its football district, but granted the appeal for basketball. Beaumont West Brook will remain in conference 6A district 12 for football and move to conference 6A district 22 in basketball.

Livingston High School previously reported incorrect enrollment figures, corrected figures require it to move from conference 4A to conference 5A. The District Assignment Appeals Committee assigned Livingston to conference 5A district 22 for football only. Livingston’s district assignments for basketball and other activities will be released at a later date.

The District Assignment Appeals Committee voted to deny appeals from Castroville Medina Valley High School, Frankston High School, Llano High School, Eustace High School, San Angelo Central High School, Wylie High School, Pflugerville Connally High School, Buda Hays High School, Kyle Lehman High School and Lockhart High School.

The following schools were granted appeals automatically because the schools received unanimous approval from all schools in the original conference and district and the requested conference and district:


Original District

New District

Apple Springs

1A Division II – 15

1A Division I – 16

Pharr San Juan Alamo Southwest

5A – 32

6A – 31

San Antonio Fox Tech

5A – 28

3A – 26

Fort Worth Young Men’s Leadership

6A – 4

5A – 7

Fort Worth Young Women’s Leadership

6A – 4

5A – 7 


4A – 23

4A – 21


-- END --