Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Media Contact Info

Department Email:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

2010-11 UIL Lone Star Cup Winners Announced

Media Contact: Stephanie Ramirez
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Jul 01, 2011
Category: General Information


AUSTIN, TX – The five winners of the 2010-11 UIL Lone Star Cup were announced Friday.

Conroe The Woodlands High School captured the state championships in boys cross country and softball, and earned two second-place finishes in volleyball and boys swimming and diving en route to its fourth-consecutive and fifth overall Class 5A UIL Lone Star Cup victory. The Highlanders are now tied with Humble Kingwood High School for the most 5A UIL Lone Star Cup victories.

On the heels of its first-ever boys soccer state championships, Boerne Champion High School claimed the top spot in the Class 4A UIL Lone Star Cup standings for the first time in school history. The Chargers edged out Waco Midway High School by four points, the closest margin-of-victory of the five classifications.

With three state championships in the 2010-11 season, Lucas Lovejoy High School captured its second-consecutive Class 3A UIL Lone Star Cup victory. The Leopards’ three state titles – in girls and boys cross country and volleyball – and its lengthy playoff runs in girls basketball, boys soccer and softball helped keep the school first in the standings the entire season.

Cameron Yoe High School had performed well in the fall – with state runner-up finishes in football and girls cross country – but was propelled to the top of the standings by its strong showing in the spring with state championships in girls track and field and baseball. The Yoemen also placed second at state in girls golf and third at state in boys track and field.

After seeing its streak of four-consecutive UIL Lone Star Cup victories end last year, Lindsay High School has returned as Class 1A champion. The Knights were state semi-finalists in softball and state runners-up in academics and girls track and field.

The UIL Lone Star Cup recognizes five high schools (one in each of the five UIL classifications) based on their overall team achievement in a variety of sanctioned athletic and academic championships. All UIL member high schools in good standing are included for contention for the UIL Lone Star Cup.

The UIL Lone Star Cup program began in the 1997-98 season.

Below are the Top Ten schools in each classification for this year’s UIL Lone Star Cup Standings:

1. Conroe The Woodlands 114 pts.
2. Southlake Carroll  101 pts.
3. Lewisville Marcus  70 pts.
4. Midland   60 pts.
5. McKinney Boyd  58 pts.
6. Arlington Martin  52 pts.
    Galena Park North Shore 52 pts.
8. Fort Bend Clements 50 pts.
    Humble Kingwood  50 pts.
    San Antonio Reagan 50 pts.

1. Boerne Champion  88 pts.
2. Waco Midway  84 pts.
3. Denton Ryan  78 pts.
    Friendswood  78 pts.
5. Austin Lake Travis  76 pts.
    Frisco Wakeland  76 pts.
7. Aledo   75 pts.
    Montgomery  75 pts.
9. Cedar Park Vista Ridge 70 pts.
10. Dallas Highland Park 69 pts.

1. Lucas Lovejoy  118 pts.
2. Argyle   88 pts.
3. Abilene Wylie  76 pts.
4. Kennedale   62 pts.
5. Celina   54 pts.
6. Burkburnett   52 pts.
    Lorena   52 pts.
8. Lubbock Cooper  50 pts.
9. Brownwood   48 pts.
10. Andrews   46 pts.
      Texarkana Liberty-Eylau 46 pts.
      West Columbia Columbia 46 pts.

1. Cameron Yoe  82 pts.
2. Tatum   64 pts.
3. Wall    60 pts.
4. Poth    58 pts.
5. Tuscola Jim Ned  56 pts.
6. Brock   54 pts.
7. Bushland   48 pts.
8. White Oak   47 pts.
9. Crawford   46 pts.
10. Crockett   44 pts.
      Idalou   44 pts.
      Vanderbilt Industrial 44 pts.

1. Lindsay   70 pts.
2. Shiner   62 pts.
3. Mart    50 pts.
4. Albany   48 pts.
5. Falls City   46 pts.
    Martin’s Mill  46 pts.
    Thrall   46 pts.
8. Evadale   44 pts.
    Grapeland   44 pts.
    Hamlin   44 pts.

-- END --